winged reviews
Blog Tour, Guest Post / July 18, 2013

The Dead Girls Detective Agency blog tour button

Welcome to the first stop for the The Dead Girls Detective Agency by Suzy Cox! I was thrilled to be invited to be part of the tour by UK publishers Constable & Robinson, as I’ve been waiting eagerly for its UK publication since the book debuted in the US last year. Today Suzy has written a fun guest post on dead girls style and I put together what I think is a cute, Charlotte-esque outfit!

Guest Post from Suzy Cox

Dead Girls Style

Charlotte’s biggest problem in death (aside from the basic stuff like missing her family and friends or, y’know, being alive)? The lack of clothing decisions.

Here’s the thing no one ever tells you about being horrifically murdered in your teens – style-wise, death sucks.

The rule is that all ghosts have to spend forever in whatever outfit they died in. Which for Charlotte unfortunately means her gross school uniform: a blue-and-yellow plaid skirt, white shirt, navy blazer… and her mom’s suede DVF heels, which she totally stole the morning before she was pushed under a subway train by some psycho. And she totally can’t walk in either.

Her favorite Seven jeans, Converse and a cute Urban Outfitters band T-shirt would have been way more afterlife-appropriate. If only she’d changed into them before she left school that fateful afternoon. But hey, when it comes to biting the bullet, it’s not like someone walks up and warns you you’re about to be killed. You don’t see blonde girls dressed all in white, flapping their big old angel wings. Or a particularly menacing black crow. Your iPhone doesn’t suddenly install a Reaper app.

If only…


Dead Girls Style

Denim Jeans, 7 for All Mankind. Black Suede Shoes, DVF. Hot Pink Blazer, Zara. Homies T-Shirt, Brian Lichtenberg. Chelsea Satchel, Cambridge Satchel Company

And here are my picks for a Charlotte like outfit! I tried to mix a bit of her favourite clothes like her jeans and t-shirt with some of the clothes she has unfortunately got stuck in, with a bit more flair like the bright pink blazer and her mum’s super sweet shoes. Top it all off with a pretty pastel satchel and Charlotte is summer in the City ready!

About The Dead Girls Detective Agency

The Dead Girls Detective Agency by Suzy Cox

Release: 2 July 2013
Publisher: Constable & Robinson

Being told you‟re dead is one thing, but having to solve your own murder? It’s a lot for a girl to take in on one day…

Charlotte Feldman wakes up at Hotel Attesa, home to murdered New York teenagers and official HQ of the Dead Girls Detective Agency. Apparently being a ghost comes with more rules than high school – a chemistry test would be more appealing than this being dead lark! And she isn’t sure about her fellow afterlife companions: Nancy is the Rulebook’s devoted guardian and Lorna can’t even get over the fact that she died wearing last season’s collection. And then there’s Edison – the really cute, if slightly hostile, dead boy.

But where does this leave Charlotte and her boyfriend David? Is it possible to have a long distance relationship from beyond the grave? The only way out of this limbo is to figure out who killed her, or she’ll have to spend eternity here. But who could hate her enough to want her dead?

For fans of Meg Cabot and Ally Carter, this is the first in an exciting new series from a clever, fresh new voice in teen fiction.
 

About Suzy Cox:

Suzy Cox author pic

Suzy Cox is Deputy Editor of Cosmopolitan magazine and has been working as a journalist since the age of sixteen, when she founded a monthly music page for teenagers in the Oxford Times. Suzy lives in London, but she’s totally obsessed with New York (Charlotte’s limbo is her idea of heaven).

Follow Suzy on Twitter.

2 Responses to Blog Tour: The Dead Girls Detective Agency by Suzy Cox

  1. @BookSwoon says:

    The Dead Girls Detective Agency sounds so fun, and the character Charlotte Feldman sounds great too ! Thanks for the Guest Post with Suzy Cox and the "Dead Girls Style"!
    My recent post Book Review: Impostor by Susanne Winnacker

  2. Anya says:

    Oh, I've seen this around the blogosphere a bit, it looks really cool!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge