winged reviews
Review, Young Adult / February 17, 2015
The Murder Complex by Lindsay CummingsThe Murder Complex
Author: Lindsay Cummings
Series: The Murder Complex #1
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Date: June 10, 2014
416 pages
Source: Purchased
Genres: Dystopian
Buy the BookGoodreads

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel.

WOW. That’s the one word I want to use after reading this book. I love a good dystopian story and this one did not disappoint me. It had everything I hoped it would – action, suspense, danger, broken society, a corrupt system that has lied to everyone, and a strong main character that won’t back down from a fight.

The book hit the ground running and I was immediately taken into Meadow’s world. She was trained from a very young age to survive and kill without regret. She struggled to protect her family and support them at the same time. Along the way, she meets the strange and mysterious Zephyr. Zephyr was abandoned at a very young age, forced to live on the streets and take the worst of the worst jobs in order to keep him fed, clothed, and a roof over his head. I really like how he had to learn to be tough and defend himself yet had a softer side that he kept hidden. You see this side of him by how he reacts to Meadow, who just so happens to remind him of the woman he dreamt about nightly. It was interesting to see how their lives and pasts connected with each other without them even knowing it.

I felt there was great character development and it was noticeable and appreciated as the story continued, especially when Meadow begins to learn the truth about her past. You really do not see it coming when she finds out the actual truth of everything she thought she knew. That threw a great spin on everything that keeps you wanting to read more. I really liked how this story stuck to what a dystopian story should be and that the main focus wasn’t the apparent attraction between Meadow and Zephyr, only a few hints about how they start to care for each other. The author also did a great job of balancing the story between Meadow being a killing machine and learning that nothing is as she was raised to believe.

The one thing I disliked about the book is that it was over too quickly. I read this book in one day and found myself wanting more. I wanted to find out what happened so badly that I skipped meals to read one more chapter. The whole story moved at the perfect pace and I was not left bored or wondering when it would be over. I really cannot wait to see what happens in the next story. So if you are a fan of dystopian stories, this one will certainly not disappoint.

4.5 Stars

One Comment to The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

  1. littlebookstar says:

    I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed reading Red Queen! I love it when a book is able to make you feel wanting more. I thought it was a great book but I did have some issues with it. While reading Red Queen, I couldn't stop comparing it to other dystopian / fantasy books I've read because it was too similar. I think that took away some of the enjoyment while reading. I'm still looking forward to the sequel though!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge