winged reviews
Archives
Review, Young Adult / February 17, 2015
The Murder Complex by Lindsay CummingsThe Murder Complex
Author: Lindsay Cummings
Series: The Murder Complex #1
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Date: June 10, 2014
416 pages
Source: Purchased
Genres: Dystopian
Buy the BookGoodreads

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel.

WOW. That’s the one word I want to use after reading this book. I love a good dystopian story and this one did not disappoint me. It had everything I hoped it would – action, suspense, danger, broken society, a corrupt system that has lied to everyone, and a strong main character that won’t back down from a fight. read more

Share:
By: Sara
Review, Young Adult / December 6, 2013
Angelfall by Susan EeAngelfall
Author: Susan Ee
Series: Penryn and the End of Days #1
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Date: May 2013
325 pages
Source: ARC from publisher
Genres: Dystopian, Paranormal
Buy the BookGoodreads

It's been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels' stronghold in San Francisco where she'll risk everything to rescue her sister and he'll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

Susan Ee is a brave woman. Not only for originally self-publishing this great book back in 2011, but for writing a book that takes all the gloss away from angels. Angelfall is stripped back tale of an apocalyptic world that is scarily real. The book made me laugh, cry, swoon and quiver in fear and loathing. It was an exceptional story with characters to love. read more

Share:
By: Daphne
Review, Teenage Musings, Young Adult / September 23, 2013

Teenage Musings - Lenn

I have been planning to read this for a long time, but I was always so broke when I visited a bookstore. When I heard that they’re making a movie out of it, I was eager to read it, so I didn’t hesitate in buying it, since I have this rule that I wouldn’t be watching an adaptation if I still haven’t read the book. read more

Share:
By: Daphne
Review, Teenage Musings, Young Adult / September 5, 2013

Teenage Musings banner

Reviewed by: Jack

Pure was an average read. If I had to some it up in one word, that would be it, average. I’ve read many dystopians, and this one doesn’t stand out for me. I took me quite a while to get through this novel, over a week. It was not really a page turner for me at all, but I can see why it’s a pretty popular novel. It’s a big story, an epic plot. Just not really for me, I’m afraid. read more

Share:
By: Daphne
Review, Young Adult / August 8, 2013
All Our Yesterdays by Cristin TerrillAll Our Yesterdays
Author: Cristin Terrill
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Date: August 2013
362 pages
Source: ARC from publisher
Genres: Dystopian
Buy the BookGoodreads

Em is locked in a bare, cold cell with no comforts. Finn is in the cell next door. The Doctor is keeping them there until they tell him what he wants to know. Trouble is, what he wants to know hasn't happened yet.

Em and Finn have a shared past, but no future unless they can find a way out. The present is torture - being kept apart, overhearing each other's anguish as the Doctor relentlessly seeks answers. There's no way back from here, to what they used to be, the world they used to know. Then Em finds a note in her cell which changes everything. It's from her future self and contains some simple but very clear instructions. Em must travel back in time to avert a tragedy that's about to unfold. Worse, she has to pursue and kill the boy she loves to change the future.

When time travel is done right, it is phenomenal and Cristin Terrill got it absolutely spot on with her sci-fi, time bending debut! All Our Yesterdays had me hooked from the start and took me on a heart-pounding, fast-paced dystopian adventure. I haven’t cared for characters’ survival this much since The Hunger Games—Em and Finn completely won me over and the ending absolutely blew my mind! read more

Share:
By: Daphne