winged reviews
Archives
Young Adult / July 18, 2016
Zenith by Sasha Alsberg & Lindsay CummingsZenith
Author: Lindsay Cummings, sasha alsberg
Series: Androma Saga #1
Publisher: Self-published
Date: 21/06/2016
62 pages
Source: Purchased
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Buy the BookGoodreads

There is darkness sweeping across the stars.

Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness: a powerful mercenary whose reign of terror stretches across the Mirabel Galaxy. To those aboard her fearsome glass starship the Maurader, she’s just Andi, their captain and protector.

When a routine mission goes awry, the all-girl crew’s resilience is tested as they find themselves in a most unfamiliar place: at the mercy of a sadistic bounty hunter connected to Andi’s past and a harrowing betrayal.

Meanwhile, on the far side of the galaxy, a ruthless ruler waits in the shadows of the planet Xen Ptera, biding her time to exact revenge for the destruction of her people. The final pieces of her deadly plan are about to fall into place, unleashing a plot that will tear Mirabel in two.

Andi and her crew embark on a dangerous, soul-testing journey that could restore order to their ship—or just as easily start a war that will devour worlds. As the Marauder hurtles towards the unknown, and Mirabel hangs in the balance, the only thing certain is that in a galaxy run on lies and illusion, no one can be trusted.

There are a few things I’d like to state before getting into this review. First of all, I am still hovering between 2.5 and 3 stars with this book. Secondly, it is only the beginning of this story – it is serialised, however it hasn’t been announced when the second instalment will be out.

read more

Share:
By: Vicky
Review, Young Adult / December 22, 2014
This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Meagan SpoonerThis Shattered World
Author: Amie Kaufman, Meagan Spooner
Series: Starbound #2
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Date: December 2014
390 pages
Source: NetGalley
Genres: Science Fiction
Buy the BookGoodreads

Jubilee Chase and Flynn Cormac should never have met.

Lee is captain of the forces sent to Avon to crush the terraformed planet’s rebellious colonists, but she has her own reasons for hating the insurgents.

Rebellion is in Flynn’s blood. Terraforming corporations make their fortune by recruiting colonists to make the inhospitable planets livable, with the promise of a better life for their children. But they never fulfilled their promise on Avon, and decades later, Flynn is leading the rebellion.

Desperate for any advantage in a bloody and unrelentingly war, Flynn does the only thing that makes sense when he and Lee cross paths: he returns to base with her as prisoner. But as his fellow rebels prepare to execute this tough-talking girl with nerves of steel, Flynn makes another choice that will change him forever. He and Lee escape the rebel base together, caught between two sides of a senseless war.

I was a little disappointed to learn that the sequel to last year’s fantastic These Broken Stars would not be more adventures of Tarver and Lilac, but I had faith that Kaufman and Spooner would deliver their awesome brand of sci-fi swoons.

And deliver they did. When I finished This Shattered World, I didn’t know which book I loved more to be honest. I had so much love for all the characters in this book, the fantastic world building, the chemistry and the chills.

read more

Share:
By: Daphne
Review, Young Adult / December 21, 2014
These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan SpoonerThese Broken Stars
Author: Amie Kaufman, Meagan Spooner
Series: Starbound #1
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Date: December 2013
374 pages
Source: NetGalley
Genres: Science Fiction
Buy the BookGoodreads

It's a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone.

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help.

Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?

Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.

You know those books that stay with you for ages? It’s been a long time between reading this book and writing this review, but the happenings in it are so unique, I’m still thinking about it. Also, every time I glimpse this gorgeous cover, I basically fall in love all over again.

When I heard it billed as ‘Titanic in space’, I was immediately sold. I love it when two people from different classes fall in love—this is basically why I love period dramas. The tension, the initial distaste, the slow realisation and the element of forbidden love are all wonderful.

read more

Share:
By: Daphne
Adult, Review / September 13, 2013
The Mad Scientist’s Daughter by Cassandra Rose ClarkeThe Mad Scientist's Daughter
Author: Cassandra Rose Clarke
Date: January 2013
400 pages
Source: NetGalley
Genres: Science Fiction
Buy the BookGoodreads

The Mad Scientist’s Daughter is the heartbreaking story of the journey from childhood to adulthood, with an intriguing science fictional twist.

There’s never been anyone - or anything - quite like Finn.

He looks, and acts human, though he has no desire to be. He was programmed to assist his owners, and performs his duties to perfection. A billion-dollar construct, his primary task is to tutor Cat.

When the government grants rights to the ever-increasing robot population, however, Finn struggles to find his place in the world.

Reviewed by: Mary

The plot of The Mad Scientist’s Daughter sounds familiar to anyone who has been reading science fiction for a while. If you read only the summary, it’s likely you might even pass the book by, assuming there’s not much new to offer. I certainly would have without a combination of good reviews and a sale on my Nook.

read more

Share:
By: Daphne
Review, Teenage Musings, Young Adult / June 17, 2013

Teenage Musings banner

Reviewed by: Jack

Hmm. I’m not really sure with Flip. I don’t know if I liked it or not. There were times when I was hooked into the storyline, but there were also times when I just thought that this was an average story that’s a bit boring. Flip isn’t the best book I’ve read, that’s for sure.

read more

Share:
By: Daphne