winged reviews
Archives
Uncategorized, Young Adult / November 16, 2016
The Deviants by C.J. SkuseThe Deviants
Author: c. j. skuse
Publisher: MIRA Ink
Date: 22/09/2016
Source: ARC from publisher
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Buy the BookGoodreads

When you set out for revenge, dig two graves

Growing up in the sleepy English seaside town of Brynston, the fearless five – Ella, Max, Corey, Fallon and Zane – were always inseparable. Living up to their nickname, they were the adventurous, rowdy kids who lived for ghost stories and exploring the nearby islands off the coast. But when Max’s beloved older sister Jessica is killed, the friendship seems to die with her.

Now years later, only Max and Ella are in touch; still best friends and a couple since they were thirteen. Their lives are so intertwined Max’s dad even sponsors Ella’s training for the Commonwealth Games. But Ella is hiding things. Like why she hates going to Max’s house for Sunday dinner, and flinches whenever his family are near. Or the real reason she’s afraid to take their relationship to the next level.

When underdog Corey is bullied, the fearless five are brought back together again, teaming up to wreak havoc and revenge on those who have wronged them. But when the secrets they are keeping can no longer be kept quiet, will their fearlessness be enough to save them from themselves?

Big thank you to Mira Ink for sending me this for review! This in no way affects my review.

This year I have been reading a lot of books from the fantasy genre, so when offered the opportunity to read The Deviants, I thought I’d take a break from my comfort genre and go and explore a contemporary read. This was no fluffy contemporary book though. Instead it was a fast paced, dark story that I really enjoyed that I actually read within a day. Having never read anything by C. J. Skuse before, I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect but I am glad I took the chance to give this a go.

read more

Share:
By: Vicky
Review, Young Adult / October 4, 2016
Crooked Kingdom by Leigh BardugoCrooked Kingdom
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group
Date: 09/2016
546 pages
Source: Purchased
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Buy the BookGoodreads

When you can’t beat the odds, change the game.

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and badly weakened, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team's fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of the Grisha world.

“They don’t know who we are. Not really. They don’t know what we’ve done, what we’ve managed together.” Kaz rapped his cane on the ground. “So let’s go show them they picked the wrong damn fight.”

Six of Crows was one of my favorite books of 2015 and I was a little nervous going into Crooked Kingdom. I needn’t have worried about the quality of the story, the plot was fast paced with frequently shifting sources of tension and danger. Kaz and company feel a little less ahead of the game than last time. Fighting for more personal reasons than money, and doing so against adversaries who know they are coming, plenty of ugly surprises are in store. This wasn’t like taking the Ice Court by surprise; coming up against a very-prepared Van Eck and Pekka Rollins, the gang frequently struggled and had to re-plot in their quest for revenge and redemption. I kept turning the pages wondering how Kaz and team would manage to achieve everything this story has been set up for. From beginning to end the plot flows masterfully with only small breathers before the next big disaster hits.

read more

Share:
By: Diane
Young Adult / July 18, 2016
Zenith by Sasha Alsberg & Lindsay CummingsZenith
Author: Lindsay Cummings, sasha alsberg
Series: Androma Saga #1
Publisher: Self-published
Date: 21/06/2016
62 pages
Source: Purchased
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Buy the BookGoodreads

There is darkness sweeping across the stars.

Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness: a powerful mercenary whose reign of terror stretches across the Mirabel Galaxy. To those aboard her fearsome glass starship the Maurader, she’s just Andi, their captain and protector.

When a routine mission goes awry, the all-girl crew’s resilience is tested as they find themselves in a most unfamiliar place: at the mercy of a sadistic bounty hunter connected to Andi’s past and a harrowing betrayal.

Meanwhile, on the far side of the galaxy, a ruthless ruler waits in the shadows of the planet Xen Ptera, biding her time to exact revenge for the destruction of her people. The final pieces of her deadly plan are about to fall into place, unleashing a plot that will tear Mirabel in two.

Andi and her crew embark on a dangerous, soul-testing journey that could restore order to their ship—or just as easily start a war that will devour worlds. As the Marauder hurtles towards the unknown, and Mirabel hangs in the balance, the only thing certain is that in a galaxy run on lies and illusion, no one can be trusted.

There are a few things I’d like to state before getting into this review. First of all, I am still hovering between 2.5 and 3 stars with this book. Secondly, it is only the beginning of this story – it is serialised, however it hasn’t been announced when the second instalment will be out.

read more

Share:
By: Vicky
Review, Young Adult / March 19, 2015
Asylum by Madeleine RouxAsylum
Author: Madeleine Roux
Series: Asylum #1
Publisher: HarperCollins
Date: August 2014
336 pages
Source: Purchased
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
Buy the BookGoodreads

Asylum is a thrilling and creepy photo-novel perfect for fans of the New York Times bestseller Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.

For sixteen-year-old Dan Crawford, New Hampshire College Prep is more than a summer program—it's a lifeline. An outcast at his high school, Dan is excited to finally make some friends in his last summer before college. But when he arrives at the program, Dan learns that his dorm for the summer used to be a sanatorium, more commonly known as an asylum. And not just any asylum—a last resort for the criminally insane.

As Dan and his new friends, Abby and Jordan, explore the hidden recesses of their creepy summer home, they soon discover it's no coincidence that the three of them ended up here. Because the asylum holds the key to a terrifying past. And there are some secrets that refuse to stay buried.

Featuring found photos of unsettling history and real abandoned asylums and filled with chilling mystery and page-turning suspense, Madeleine Roux's teen debut, Asylum, is a horror story that treads the line between genius and insanity.

This book has the look and feel of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children but do not be fooled, that is where is the similarity ends. The book jacket and photos have the look for a really creepy story that will haunt your dreams but that doesn’t happen.

The story starts out shaky when the main character, Dan Crawford, attends an 8-week summer school program. Since there is a rooming issue that forces everyone to stay in an asylum for the length of the program, that is when creepy and unusual things start happening to Dan. Well, it is intended to be creepy but comes across as just odd. Mysterious photos appear in Dan’s room and strange dreams occur yet Dan is not really rattled by any of this. Dan seems to have some strange connection to the asylum and knows the stories before anyone tells them to him. Dan does make friends, Abby and Jordan, and convinces them to check the asylum out with him. They start to explore the office where they find more creepy old photos, hospital records and bloody hand-prints. As the story goes on, they explore farther and farther into the off-limits wing and discover more hidden secrets.

read more

Share:
By: Sara
Review, Young Adult / March 9, 2015
Seraphina by Rachel HartmanSeraphina
Author: Rachel Hartman
Series: Seraphina #1
Publisher: Corgi Childrens, Random House Children's Publishers
Date: January 2013
369 pages
Source: Purchased
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Buy the BookGoodreads

In her New York Times bestselling and Morris Award-winning debut, Rachel Hartman introduces mathematical dragons in an alternative-medieval world to fantasy and science-fiction readers of all ages. Eragon-author Christopher Paolini calls them, "Some of the most interesting dragons I've read in fantasy."

Four decades of peace have done little to ease the mistrust between humans and dragons in the kingdom of Goredd. Folding themselves into human shape, dragons attend court as ambassadors, and lend their rational, mathematical minds to universities as scholars and teachers. As the treaty's anniversary draws near, however, tensions are high.

Seraphina Dombegh has reason to fear both sides. An unusually gifted musician, she joins the court just as a member of the royal family is murdered—in suspiciously draconian fashion. Seraphina is drawn into the investigation, partnering with the captain of the Queen's Guard, the dangerously perceptive Prince Lucian Kiggs. While they begin to uncover hints of a sinister plot to destroy the peace, Seraphina struggles to protect her own secret, the secret behind her musical gift, one so terrible that its discovery could mean her very life.

Quite honestly, Seraphina deserves nothing short of a glowing review! I absolutely adored it. I’ve never been much of a re-reader, but I can easily see myself picking up Seraphina again and again – in fact, I wanted to do just that, the minute I turned the last page.

I was attracted to this book after binge watching GOT – I was curious to actually read a book about dragons; creatures that I was so unfamiliar with but oh so very curious about.

read more

Share:
By: Sarah