winged reviews
Archives
Review, Young Adult / March 4, 2015
Midnight Thief by Livia BlackburneMidnight Thief
Author: Livia Blackburne
Series: Midnight Thief #1
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Date: July 2014
384 pages
Source: Purchased
Genres: Fantasy
Buy the BookGoodreads

Growing up on Forge’s streets has taught Kyra how to stretch a coin. And when that’s not enough, her uncanny ability to scale walls and bypass guards helps her take what she needs.

But when the leader of the Assassins Guild offers Kyra a lucrative job, she hesitates. She knows how to get by on her own, and she’s not sure she wants to play by his rules. But he’s persistent—and darkly attractive—and Kyra can’t quite resist his pull.

Tristam of Brancel is a young Palace knight on a mission. After his best friend is brutally murdered by Demon Riders, a clan of vicious warriors who ride bloodthirsty wildcats, Tristam vows to take them down. But as his investigation deepens, he finds his efforts thwarted by a talented thief, one who sneaks past Palace defenses with uncanny ease.

When a fateful raid throws Kyra and Tristam together, the two enemies realize that their best chance at survival—and vengeance—might be to join forces. And as their loyalties are tested to the breaking point, they learn a startling secret about Kyra’s past that threatens to reshape both their lives.

In her arresting debut novel, Livia Blackburne creates a captivating world where intrigue prowls around every corner—and danger is a way of life.

There was a lot of hype around this book at the 2014 Book Expo America (BEA) and the reviews I read made me want get my hands on this book on release day. I was lucky enough to find an actual print copy at a resell book shop 3 weeks before it was scheduled to be released. I felt it was my lucky day! I raced home to start on what I had hoped would be an amazing adventure into mystery and fantasy. Alas, my expectations were probably greater than what the story could deliver.

read more

Share:
By: Sara
Review, Young Adult / December 22, 2014
This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Meagan SpoonerThis Shattered World
Author: Amie Kaufman, Meagan Spooner
Series: Starbound #2
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Date: December 2014
390 pages
Source: NetGalley
Genres: Science Fiction
Buy the BookGoodreads

Jubilee Chase and Flynn Cormac should never have met.

Lee is captain of the forces sent to Avon to crush the terraformed planet’s rebellious colonists, but she has her own reasons for hating the insurgents.

Rebellion is in Flynn’s blood. Terraforming corporations make their fortune by recruiting colonists to make the inhospitable planets livable, with the promise of a better life for their children. But they never fulfilled their promise on Avon, and decades later, Flynn is leading the rebellion.

Desperate for any advantage in a bloody and unrelentingly war, Flynn does the only thing that makes sense when he and Lee cross paths: he returns to base with her as prisoner. But as his fellow rebels prepare to execute this tough-talking girl with nerves of steel, Flynn makes another choice that will change him forever. He and Lee escape the rebel base together, caught between two sides of a senseless war.

I was a little disappointed to learn that the sequel to last year’s fantastic These Broken Stars would not be more adventures of Tarver and Lilac, but I had faith that Kaufman and Spooner would deliver their awesome brand of sci-fi swoons.

And deliver they did. When I finished This Shattered World, I didn’t know which book I loved more to be honest. I had so much love for all the characters in this book, the fantastic world building, the chemistry and the chills.

read more

Share:
By: Daphne
Review, Young Adult / December 21, 2014
These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan SpoonerThese Broken Stars
Author: Amie Kaufman, Meagan Spooner
Series: Starbound #1
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Date: December 2013
374 pages
Source: NetGalley
Genres: Science Fiction
Buy the BookGoodreads

It's a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone.

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help.

Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?

Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.

You know those books that stay with you for ages? It’s been a long time between reading this book and writing this review, but the happenings in it are so unique, I’m still thinking about it. Also, every time I glimpse this gorgeous cover, I basically fall in love all over again.

When I heard it billed as ‘Titanic in space’, I was immediately sold. I love it when two people from different classes fall in love—this is basically why I love period dramas. The tension, the initial distaste, the slow realisation and the element of forbidden love are all wonderful.

read more

Share:
By: Daphne
Middle Grade, Review / August 26, 2013
The Last Olympian by Rick RiordanThe Last Olympian
Author: Rick Riordan
Series: Percy Jackson and the Olympians #5
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Date: May 2009
381 pages
Buy the BookGoodreads

All year the half-bloods have been preparing for battle against the Titans, knowing the odds of victory are grim. Kronos's army is stronger than ever, and with every god and half-blood he recruits, the evil Titan's power only grows. While the Olympians struggle to contain the rampaging monster Typhon, Kronos begins his advance on New York City, where Mount Olympus stands virtually unguarded. Now it's up to Percy Jackson and an army of young demigods to stop the Lord of Time.

In this momentous final book in the New York Times best-selling Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, the long-awaited prophecy surrounding Percy's sixteenth birthday unfolds. And as the battle for Western civilization rages on the streets of Manhattan, Percy faces a terrifying suspicion that he may be fighting against his own fate.

Reviewed by: Mary

It’s time for the moment Percy has been avoiding for four years – the fulfillment of the prophecy. Olympus will stand or fall on his decision, if he can stay alive until his 16th birthday anyway.

Riordan doesn’t waste time, starting off the book with a reminder that no one is safe, the stakes are as high as they can get, and there is a spy at Camp Half Blood. Kronos has overtaken Luke’s body, and though Percy tries to stop him, the battle for Olympus is coming.

read more

Share:
By: Daphne
Middle Grade, Review / August 9, 2013
The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick RiordanThe Battle of the Labyrinth
Author: Rick Riordan
Series: Percy Jackson and the Olympians #4
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Date: March 2008
375 pages
Source: Purchased
Genres: Mythology
Buy the BookGoodreads

Percy Jackson isn't expecting freshman orientation to be any fun. But when a mysterious mortal acquaintance appears on campus, followed by demon cheerleaders, things quickly move from bad to worse.

In this fourth installment of the blockbuster series, time is running out as war between the Olympians and the evil Titan lord Kronos draws near. Even the safe haven of Camp Half-Blood grows more vulnerable by the minute as Kronos's army prepares to invade its once impenetrable borders. To stop the invasion, Percy and his demigod friends must set out on a quest through the Labyrinth - a sprawling underground world with stunning surprises at every turn.

Reviewed by: Mary

I was very excited for the fourth book in the Percy Jackson series because it was focused on one of my favorite myths – Daedalus, Icarus, and the Labyrinth. In most of the previous books, the stories Riordan is updating are done with a modern and sarcastic twist. While the sarcasm is still present in this book, he actually goes to a deeper and darker place this time and really lays the groundwork for an epic final battle in book five.

read more

Share:
By: Daphne