winged reviews
Archives
Young Adult / May 2, 2017
Strange the Dreamer by Laini TaylorStrange the Dreamer
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Date: March 2017
544 pages
Source: Purchased
Buy the BookGoodreads

The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around—and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he’s been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance or lose his dream forever.

What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving?

The answers await in Weep, but so do more mysteries—including the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo’s dreams. How did he dream her before he knew she existed? And if all the gods are dead, why does she seem so real?

Welcome to Weep.

As a huge fan of both Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy and her Faeries of Dreamdark series (which WAY more people need to read!),  Strange the Dreamer was one of my most looked-forward to books of 2017.

I was so instantly attached to Lazlo Strange that I felt almost more invested at the start of the book than I was later when the limelight was shared with other characters. Lazlo’s story arc is a common one in literature and film, but popular. An orphan who doesn’t know where he comes from, he spends his days as a librarian researching the lost city of Weep, a personal obsession of his. Unexpectedly, a delegation of warriors comes one day from the lost city seeking help and Lazlo answers the call to adventure that lies outside of his books, finding a way to insinuate himself with those chosen to make the journey to Weep. As expected Laini Taylor’s prose is spellbinding and dreamy, but never in a way that drowns out the actual story and action taking place.

read more

Share:
By: Diane
Adult, Children's / August 1, 2016
Harry Potter and the Cursed ChildHarry Potter and the Cursed Child
Author: J. K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, John Tiffany
Series: Harry Potter #8
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Date: 31/07/2016
330 pages
Source: Purchased
Genres: Fantasy
Buy the BookGoodreads

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn't much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband, and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

Wow, what a surprise it has been with this book/script. When I first heard about a new Harry Potter play and book coming out, you betcha I went and pre ordered a copy straight away! I picked it up at midnight on release date and started reading as soon as I got home. I just had to know what happened in this new tale about Harry. I finished the book at 3pm on release day, having a good rest in between amongst other things but in all honesty, I should have just stayed up all night and read it as I think it only would’ve taken me another hour to finish it. That is how quick of a read I found it. But then you know, it is a script and script’s have such big gaps that I’m not surprised I got through it so quickly.

read more

Share:
By: Vicky
Review, Young Adult / September 24, 2012
Defiance by C.J. RedwineDefiance
Author: C.J. Redwine
Series: The Courier's Daughter #1
Publisher: Atom
Date: September 2012
402 pages
Source: ARC from publisher
Genres: Dystopian, Fantasy
Buy the BookGoodreads

Rachel’s world is confined to the protective walls around her city. Beyond them are violent wanderers, extreme terrain, and a danger straight out of legend: a beast called the Cursed One that devastates everything in its path.

When Rachel’s father goes missing, she is desperate to search for him. But her attempts to flee the city bring her to the attention of its overbearing ruler. His efforts to control her make the world within the walls seem as dangerous as that outside.

Her only chance at escape is Logan. Once her father’s apprentice, and now her only protector, he feels that helping her might mean losing her completely. But if he can put his feelings aside, they might be able to save more than Rachel’s father. They might be able to break down the walls, and set their people free.

Defiance is an incredible book, with each page like a move in an intricate, high-stakes chess game between the characters. It was beautifully written and full of unexpected twists. Best of all, it has Logan, who in the author C.J. Redwine’s own words is like the love-child of Sherlock Holmes and MacGuyver.

read more

Share:
By: Daphne
Adult, Review / August 24, 2012
Lover Unbound by J R WardLover Unbound
Author: J.R. Ward
Series: Black Dagger Brotherhood #5
Publisher: Piatkus Books
Date: October 2010
532 pages
Source: Purchased
Genres: Contemporary, Paranormal
Buy the BookGoodreads

The ruthless and brilliant brother Vishous possesses a destructive curse and a frightening ability to see the future. As a member of the Brotherhood, he has no interest in love or emotion, only the battle with the Lessening Society. But when a mortal injury puts him in the care of a human surgeon, Dr. Jane Whitcomb compels him to reveal his inner pain and taste true pleasure for the first time-until a destiny he didn't choose takes him into a future that does not include her...

Another fantastic installment to the Black Dagger Brotherhood series.

This one is Vishous’ book. After being told the horrifying news that he has to become the ‘Primale’ of the vampire race (i.e. he is required to mate with the chosen females to ensure the survival of the warrior race) Vishous goes out to take his anger out in a hunt for lessers. Unfortunately, he takes a bullet to the chest and ends up on the operating table of Jane Whitcomb in a human hospital! From thereon the story gets better and better as V’s brother’s bust him out of the hospital before the sun can come up and before the staff notice his weird anatomy! Only problem is, V insists on bringing Jane home with him..!

read more

Share:
By: Alison
Adult, Review / May 8, 2012
Lover Revealed by J.R. WardLover Revealed
Author: J.R. Ward
Series: Black Dagger Brotherhood #4
Publisher: Piatkus Books
Date: February 2011
480 pages
Source: Purchased
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Buy the BookGoodreads

Butch O'Neal is a fighter by nature. A hard living, ex-homicide cop, he's the only human ever to be allowed in the inner circle of the Black Dagger Brotherhood. And he wants to go even deeper into the vampire world- to engage in the turf war with the lessers. He's got nothing to lose. His heart belongs to a female vampire, an aristocratic beauty who's way out of his league. If he can't have her, then at least he can fight side by side with the Brothers...

Fate curses him with the very thing he wants. When Butch sacrifices himself to save a civilian vampire from the slayers, he falls prey to the darkest force in the war. Left for dead, found by a miracle, the Brotherhood calls on Marissa to bring him back, though even her love may not be enough to save him...

I’ve been on a bit of a Black Dagger Brotherhood binge lately. Straight after I finished book 3 I started book 4. This one I don’t think is as good as the others, but I still believe that it’s a good and necessary edition to the series.

This tells the story of Butch and Marissa, whose story originally began in the first book. Nothing much happened with them in books 2 and 3 but in book 4 they are brought to the forefront of the storyline. Butch (or Cop as the brothers refer to him) is human. He is the only human (other than Mary) who is let into the inner circle of the brotherhood. And although he was ok with this for a while, eventually he gets sick of feeling like a ‘pet’ and wants to help them in their eradication of the lessers. However when he gets brutally tortured by the lessers for information on the brotherhood, his wish of becoming involved becomes a nightmarish reality and he gets quite a lot more than he bargained for!

read more

Share:
By: Alison