winged reviews
Adult, Top Ten, Young Adult / February 14, 2017

Happy Valentines! Time to do a list of my favorite literary couples!

I’ve made sure to include all different kinds here, from fantasy and classics to the actual romance genre. Some are from novels where there is very little focus on romance, but what’s there I adore. My criteria was simple, I couldn’t just have loved the couple while reading. These are the characters that stayed with me long after I finished their stories.

read more

Share:
By: Diane
Blog Tour, Guest Post / January 27, 2017

I’m thrilled to be hosting the lovely Stephanie Garber, in celebration of her much anticipated debut novel, Caraval! Stephanie is an absolute joy and her book about sisters, magic and the circus is one that so many have been looking forward to for so long.

Buying Dreams in a Bottle

by Stephanie Garber

A couple years ago I bought a bottle of dreams at a street fair.

read more

Share:
By: Daphne
Adult, Review, Uncategorized / January 3, 2017
The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine ArdenThe Bear and the Nightingale
Date: January 2017
336 pages
Source: NetGalley
Genres: Fantasy, Historical Fiction
Buy the BookGoodreads

A magical debut novel for readers of Naomi Novik’s Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus, and Neil Gaiman’s myth-rich fantasies, The Bear and the Nightingale spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent with a gorgeous voice.

At the edge of the Russian wilderness, winter lasts most of the year and the snowdrifts grow taller than houses. But Vasilisa doesn’t mind—she spends the winter nights huddled around the embers of a fire with her beloved siblings, listening to her nurse’s fairy tales. Above all, she loves the chilling story of Frost, the blue-eyed winter demon, who appears in the frigid night to claim unwary souls. Wise Russians fear him, her nurse says, and honor the spirits of house and yard and forest that protect their homes from evil.

After Vasilisa’s mother dies, her father goes to Moscow and brings home a new wife. Fiercely devout, city-bred, Vasilisa’s new stepmother forbids her family from honoring the household spirits. The family acquiesces, but Vasilisa is frightened, sensing that more hinges upon their rituals than anyone knows.

And indeed, crops begin to fail, evil creatures of the forest creep nearer, and misfortune stalks the village. All the while, Vasilisa’s stepmother grows ever harsher in her determination to groom her rebellious stepdaughter for either marriage or confinement in a convent.

As danger circles, Vasilisa must defy even the people she loves and call on dangerous gifts she has long concealed—this, in order to protect her family from a threat that seems to have stepped from her nurse’s most frightening tales.

I was really interested in reading The Bear and the Nightingale after it seeing it suggested for fans of Uprooted, one of my favorite books. In the end, I found this is hard to rate given that it was very good in some places and less so in others.

The first quarter I didn’t care for. I’ve never really enjoyed things with a hungry and cold atmosphere and have had trouble with other books set in Russia. I feel like one of the few people who didn’t like The Bronze Horseman. At the start the characters feel pretty remote, closer to fairy-tale stock characters than real people. I did end up invested in the protagonist, Vasya, by the mid-point. But she isn’t surrounded by much in the way of good side characters. Most are unlikable or forgettable. I get really into side characters, sometimes they are my favorite part of the story. The side characters in Uprooted felt more fleshed-out and real to me. There are a few here, but I’d have liked more. There also aren’t many interesting females beyond Vasya.

read more

Share:
By: Diane
Adult, Young Adult / December 20, 2016

One of my favorite things to read from other bloggers is their favorite books of the year. I’ve read so many amazing books this year, many of my favorites were not new releases. Like The Realm of the Elderlings books by Robin Hobb, in which I still have two more series in that world to finish. For the purposes of this list I will stick to new releases, so here it is, my 5 Favorite New Releases of 2016!

read more

Share:
By: Diane
Blog Tour / December 4, 2016

4th-december

I think anyone knows me knows that I’m at least 1/3 Gilmore Girl. I basically live and breathe the series and I constantly am watching it over, and over again. So, it’s safe to say I couldn’t be more thrilled to be part of the blog tour for Lauren Graham’s new book, Talking As Fast As I Can
From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls (And Everything In Between)
.

read more

Share:
By: Daphne